NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2018

NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Evan Starr, Staff Writer

The NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2018 was announced a few weeks ago, and it’s one of the best of all time. It includes Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, Jerry Kramer, Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher, and Terrell Owens.

The class includes arguably the best linebacker of all time in Ray Lewis, one of the most explosive wide receivers of all time in Randy Moss, and finally TO (Terrell Owens) got in. But the rest aren’t exactly a joke either.  

Bobby Beathard, a scout and front office executive for the Chiefs, Falcons, Dolphins, Redskins, and Chargers, was in NFL Football for 33 years. Having an exceptional eye for talent on the field and being fearless in trades and deals, he led the Washington Redskins to two Super Bowls and created a winning tradition in the Chargers organization as a general manager.

Robert Brazile, a linebacker who lived out his entire career for the Houston Oilers from 1975 to 1984, won defensive rookie of the year and led the Oilers to their first winning season in eight years in his rookie season. Brazile went on to be selected in seven pro-bowls, and was named to the 1970’s all-decade team.

Brian Dawkins, safety for the Eagles (1996 to 2008) and the Broncos (2009 to 2011), played an incredible 16 season of NFL football. He set the Eagle record for games played and was the first NFL player in history to record a sack, interception, fumble recovery, and a touchdown in the same game. He had at least one interception in 15 straight seasons, with 37 interceptions for his career. Dawkins was named to the 2000’s all-decade team and lives as one of the greatest safeties of all time.

Jerry Kramer, a guard for the Packers from 1958 to 1968, was a brick wall of an offensive linemen. He anchored the line for the Green Bay Packers in all of his 11 seasons. He won the first and second Super Bowls along with five NFL Nation Championships and was on the all decade team for the 1960’s. Kramer went to three pro-bowls and actually was the placekicker for the Packers during the 1962-63 season.

Ray Lewis, a linebacker for the Baltimore Ravens from 1996 to 2012, is widely known as one of the greatest to ever do it. Seventeen seasons, two Super Bowls, and 12 pro-bowls, and this guy seemed to get better with age. Lewis became the second player ever to win Defensive MVP and Superbowl MVP in the same season in 2001. He was the first player in the history of the NFL to record 40 sacks and 30 interceptions in a career and obviously was named to 2000’s all decade team. To say this guy was one of the best linebackers ever is an understatement.

Randy Moss, wide receiver for the Vikings, Raiders, Patriots, Titans, and 49ers, played a total of 14 seasons. He busted on the scene recording 69 catches for over 1,300 yards and 17 touchdowns in his rookie season that would win him the Rookie of the Year award in the 1998-99 season. Moss led the NFL in receptions five separate times and became the second player ever to reach 1,000 years 10 times. He made 982 catches for a total of almost 15,300 and 156 touchdowns for his career.

Terrell Owens, wide receiver for the 49ers, Eagles, Cowboys, Bills, and Bengals is one of the most controversial players in history to finally got in. He played 16 seasons with 1,078 catches for 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns. TO was good and he knew it. With great TD celebrations and being called a “cancer” to teams he jumped teams a lot. TO was selected to six pro-bowls and was named to the 2000’s all decade team.

Brian Urlacher, linebacker for the bears from 2000 to 2012 immediately won Defensive Rookie of the Year after registering eight sacks, his career high in his rookie season. Urlacher led the Bears to four division titles but never won a Super Bowl. He registered 41.5 sacks and 22 interceptions for his career.