NBA-All Star Teams/Reserves

NBA-All Star Teams/Reserves

Katelyn Day, Staff Writer

The NBA is changing up the all-star game this year.

Instead of fans choosing the players, both fans and analysts chose a captain for the East and West teams. Said captain would then choose four starters and seven reserves.

East captain, Lebron James (CLE) selected Kevin Durant (GSW), Anthony Davis (New Orleans), DeMarcus Cousins (New Orleans) and Kyrie Irving (BOS) as his starting four. And Bradley Beal (WASH), LaMarcus Aldridge (SA), Kevin Love (CLE), Russell Westbrook (OKC), Victor Oladipo (Indiana), Kristaps Porzingis (NY) and John Wall (WASH).

With West captain, Stephen Curry (GSW) picking James Harden (HOU), Demar DeRozan (TOR), Giannis Antetokounmpo (MIL) and Joel Embiid (PHIL) as his core four. For Curry’s reserves, he selected Damian Lillard (POR), Jimmy Butler (MIN), Draymond Green (GSW), Kyle Lowry (TOR), Klay Thompson (GSW), Karl-Anthony Towns (MIN) and Al Horford (BOS).

In the past, the All-Star players were always selected by fans and the players were to stay in their same conference, East and West. NBA commissioner Adam Silver announced fans would select captains and go on to continue selecting teams.