And the Winner is…

Abbey Bowling, Sports Editor

When the Triple Crown was last accomplished in 1967, the World Series still played in the afternoon, there were no playoffs, and there were a total of 16 teams. Contrast that to now, where the World Series is played at night, there is a complex playoffs system in place—including not one, but two wildcard games—and the number of teams has almost doubled. To say the size of the game has changed would be an understatement—the changes have made it impossible to achieve greatness.

But Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers has achieved greatness.

On October 3rd, Cabrera hit his 44th homerun of the season, putting him one ahead of Josh Hamilton’s 43. This made him the leader in three categories—homeruns (44), batting average (.330) and runs batted in (139)—which warranted a congratulatory call from Bud Selig, the commissioner of baseball himself.

Miguel Cabrera has achieved greatness, he has won the Triple Crown for the first time in 45 years, and he has forever etched his name into baseball history.